MJHS Wrestling

Submitted by andrea.pond on Wed, 01/18/2017 - 15:21
Attachment Size
DSC_0569.jpeg 33.98 KB

Mapleton Jr High wrestling team was 5-0 in district dual meets this year narrowly losing their final match by seven points.  Two days later they avenged most of their losses to rival Mt. Nebo by claiming the most champions of any school.   District champions from Mapleton Mustangs include Kaden Ercanbrack, Lukus Carrillo, Brock Morris, Sage Mortimer, Cooper Cox, Andrew Jensen, Jace Witney, and Justyn Mitchell.   District runner ups included Brody Esquivel and Kendall Rasmussen.   Bronze medalists were: Trae Rasmussen, Dillan Shepherd, Lenin Jimenez, and Colton Archibald while 4th place finishers were: Ashtyn Lowe, McKay Hansen and Bryon Reese.    The team boasted 14 girl wrestlers this year including three varsity wrestlers and now 2 time district champion and undefeated Sage Mortimer.   Team captains this year were Brock Morris, Sage Mortimer, Justyn Mitchell, Jace Witney and Lulus Carrillo.  The team was coached by Craig LaMont, Ben Gasser, and Brooks Robinson.    GO MUSTANG WRESTLERS!

Craig LaMont